Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

– I cannot understand how can you fall asleep so fast!?
– I’ll tell you my secret: I dream …
– I can not dream!
– Oh, I’ll teach you to dream! It is very easy! Close your eyes and imagine beautiful, sometimes impossible things … moments that you want to happen. Do you know,  I sometimes even laugh at my own ideas. This helps me fall asleep easily!
– For me it’s the opposite. I can not dream. I turn my dreams  into plans for my future, I think over and over again what to do, I analyze them step by step… And this makes it impossible to dream… and to fall asleep.
I shrug and think, how nice it is to be able to dream!

This dialogue was sent to me by a friend. I hope the english translation is good enough so you can understand the deeper meaning of it. While I was reading it over and over again I was asking myself: Why allow adult realities to kill childhood dreams? I am not saying that we all should go out to the nearest playground. But… be honest with yourself: can you really dream without turning those dreams into plans? Can you fall asleep with a smile on your face? Or you struggle for hours to get to sleep, no matter how tired you are? No matter what you’re doing you just cannot switch of your brain…  Plan after plan, conversations with imaginary business partners… year after year. Until the day you realize it is the children from whom we should learn our lessons on how to live.

Throw your dreams into space like a kite, and you do not know what it will bring back, a new life, a new friend, a new love, a new country.

              – Anais Nin –

Dream On Dream On
Dream until your dream comes true

-Aerosmith-

